The Leigh UTC teachers recognised at the 18th Design and Technology Association Excellence Awards

On 23rd March, Rebecca Warner was awarded The James Dyson Foundation award for excellence in engineering education and Richard Nash was awarded The Institution of Engineering and Technology award for creative use of digital technologies in design and technology, both celebrated for their outstanding contribution at the 18th Design and Technology Association Excellence Awards.  An annual event held at The Institution of Engineering and Technology, situated on the banks of the River Thames, the Awards recognise the commitment and achievements of teachers, teacher trainers, education consultants and academics across primary and secondary schools, and further and higher education.

Nominated and voted for by peers in the education sector, the Design and Technology Association’s Excellence Awards is open to the 11,000-strong membership and non-members across England and Wales. This was especially impressive as both teachers were independently awarded national winners yet both from The Leigh UTC.

Awards were presented by Lesley Morris, Chair of the Design and Technology Association and Tony Ryan, Chief Executive of the Design and Technology Association.

Tony Ryan, recognised Richard and Rebecca’s achievement, commenting: “Richard and Rebecca are to be congratulated on their well deserved awards, and celebrated for going above and beyond what might be expected in their contributions to supporting the subject of design and technology. We know that employers across the advanced manufacturing and creative industries are already concerned about the real shortage of engineers and designers and we need more people like Richard and Rebecca to inspire future generations.”

Mr Leahey – Principal at The Leigh UTC said “I am thrilled by the deserved recognition of our award winning staff. A richly deserved national accolade for all the outstanding work both Rebecca Warner and Richard Nash have achieved over the course of the year, Our students are very fortunate to have such experienced and knowledgeable staff.

award1 award2